top of page
  • Shannon Foye & Emily Adelsberger

Shannon Foye


Name: Shannon Foye

School: University of New Hampshire

Major(s): Nutrition and Wellness (Minors in Psychology and Gerontology)

Class Year: Senior

When and how did you get involved with YSI?

I became involved with YSI in the spring of 2016 when I heard about the summer expeditions to Haiti. A few of my friends were interested, so we attended the first informational meeting and all of us were hooked.

Which expeditions have you gone on?

I attended on the summer 2016 expedition for one week, and the winter 2017 expedition for two weeks.

What is your current position?

My current position is advocate recruiter at UNH.

What is your favorite memory from your trip(s) to Haiti?

My favorite memory of YSI was during the third winter session on the day of our second clinic. We had recently put into place a triage system to sort through our walk-ins, in hopes of developing a more efficient system. Clinic days always feel hectic, and we usually work until late in the day. On average, we see about 50 patients a day. However, on this day, with our awesome advocates and our new and improved system, we were able to treat and educate more than 100 patients--all by 4:00 pm! I remember being so happy, I felt like I could’ve cried.

Why did you choose to become more involved with YSI?

YSI is special to me because it is so different from other nonprofits. I’m not a homebody by any means, but Haiti is a long way away from New Hampshire. However, each time I arrive at the compound, whether it be my first day or coming in from the field, I always feel like I am home.

What is your biggest takeaway from the experiences that you have had with YSI?

My biggest takeaway from my experiences is definitely cliché, but it’s that anything is possible. I think about all the people involved with YSI... from our Board, to our recruiters, and even our first-time advocates. I’m amazed by the difference we have made and the potential of all the changes to come. All it took for this organization to succeed was a few good people with a little determination to positively impact an entire community of people.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page